Groq
Free Groq API plan with published per-model rate limits
- No credit card
- Permanent
Verified 2 weeks ago
We checked the official source on September 13, 2026.
Opened in a browser on 2026-09-04; the Free Plan Limits table renders only with JavaScript. The figures above are read from that table. The page does not state whether a card is required, and says the exact limits for your organisation are on the console limits page.
Verification is not a guarantee. Offers can change after we check them. How verification works
Checked today. Our automatic check read the official page on September 30, 2026 and the terms it can see had not changed.
Is it really free?
The real cost before you click, based on the official source.
| Free benefit | Yes |
|---|---|
| How long it stays free | Permanent |
| Credit card | Not required |
| New account | Not required |
| When it runs outRequests are rate limited rather than billed. The API returns a retry-after header once a limit is reached. | Service pauses, no charge |
| Auto-renewal | Not stated by the source |
| Region | Global |
What you get
Groq's Free plan gives API access to open models with per-model rate limits published in its documentation. For example openai/gpt-oss-120b allows 30 requests per minute and 1,000 per day, groq/compound allows 30 per minute and 250 per day, and whisper-large-v3 allows 20 requests per minute with 7,200 audio seconds per hour. Limits apply per organisation rather than per user, and the exact current values for your account are shown on the limits page in the console.
Who qualifies
Any Groq console account on the Free plan.
Requirements
- Rate limits apply per organisation, not per user
- 30 requests per minute and 1,000 per day on openai/gpt-oss-120b
- Higher limits require upgrading to the paid Developer plan
Official source
https://console.groq.com/docs/rate-limitsThis is the page we checked. The company’s own terms always take precedence over this listing.